This has been a very stressful week form me and its still far from over. During stressful times my initial reaction is to give in to my mind and worry and stress about all that needs to be done and the consequences of it not getting done. That was my attitude yesterday until I noticed it during a brief breathing meditation. Once how much I was reacting to the thoughts, images, and emotions my mind created I went for a walk.
      I live near a beach and like to walk by it when I feel this way often stopping to observe the water. Nature always makes things better. It takes me out of the fast paced human world and connects me to something more primal and in a way something that appears more real. As I stood there observing the waves coming and going I couldn't help but think of the metaphor that they are for life. Everything arises and then falls. There is no constant. No matter how great or powerful the wave. No matter how scary or tall, it too goes away and at some point becomes just a part of water. So too our problems, worries, and fears arise and receede. They come and go. Nothing is or ever will be constant. Eventually even the most turbulent of times, the greatest difficulties just merge into life...and cease to be. 
        Having this prospective its harder, at least for me, to take the stress in my head as seriously. I came home yesterday ready to just tackle my enormous to do list. Was is still overwhelming? Yes It still actually is but I am able to see it all as waves on the timeline of my life. No matter what the outcome of my efforts with the tasks in front of me all that can really happen is more waves and they too will eventually cease. 



Leave a Reply.